Review: One With You (Crossfire #5) by Sylvia Day

Review:

Wow! What a journey this entire series has been. When I first picked Bared To You in 2012, I didn’t have any expectation and I never thought it would meant so much to me. But from just reading a few chapters, Gideon and Eva have found a special place in my heart and now Sylvia Day gave them the most beautiful, healing, loving, amazing ending. one with you

If you’re one of those people that have read the first three books and have reservations of it becoming a series, I am telling you now that this finale made it all worth it. Any doubts I had about Gideon and Eva were completely assuaged in One With You. All of the ups and downs that they’ve been through throughout the 4 books made them better. It all culminated in this wonderful conclusion of their story.

In this book, Gideon and Eva are stronger than ever. Fighting not with each other but for each other. They’re now truly a team. A powerful couple who love, support and trust each other completely and unconditionally. They’re a force to be reckoned with. And that was such a refreshing thing to read. Most of the time, the hero and heroine go through a lot of dramas that would cause problem between their relationships but eventually would be resolved.Not in this case. In One With You, Gideon and Eva’s relationship are unbreakable and they’ve fought the looming dangers and threats together.

“It’s not just Gideon Cross anymore. It’s not even Gideon Cross and wife. We are Gideon and Eva Cross.”

I’m not going to talk about the plot because everything means more if you don’t know about it ahead of time. So I’m just going to say the things that I adored about this book:

Gideon Cross

Oh my this man has completely stolen my heart. From the first moment, I couldn’t help but fall for him. The emotional journey he’d been through is truly inspiring and I can’t even imagine surviving what he went through. Underneath his tough exterior, is an extremely protective, caring, generous and just an amazing guy. I love his love for Eva. He has a huge heart even if he might not realize it. And the things he says to express his love for Eva… *sigh*

Eva Tramell Cross

She’s confident, strong, deeply protective, caring, loving and stood by Gideon through everything. She has her own heartbreaking past and I don’t even know how she not only picked herself back up but learned to be so nurturing with the people she love. She showed Gideon unwavering unconditional love and that he wasn’t alone in his pain. She was there for him no matter what.

Gideon and Eva’s love for each other

“We pushed ourselves harder than we ever pushed each other. Because we wanted to be the best possible versions of ourselves, to be strong enough to be what the other needed.”

Their love has been the core of this series. It is all-consuming, we’re talking heart-is-going-to-explode intensity. The kind that clenched my heart and made me tear up – totally invested in their story.  Gideon and Eva rising above the demons of their tragic past and finally learning that they both deserve love and capable of giving it in return was amazing to read. The issues they’ve had to deal with were so deeply emotional and they’ve overcome it. This book only showed how after their healing and continued effort to be better, they can get through everything.

“That was why we were going to get past this and every other hurdle we faced: We would always meet each other halfway.”

There were also so many moments that evoked so many emotions. I ship those two hard and they say the most heartwarming things to each other.  I highlighted so many lines that most of the pages were yellow! I wish I could put it here but there were so many and I don’t want to spoil.

“You’re stuck with me for life.”
“Not long enough.” Tilting his head, he took my mouth again…”

However, I got to admit that not only was it hard for me to say goodbye but the epilogue left me wanting more though it ended in a beautiful happy note. <Highlight to see spoiler> I wish there was a 5 year from now epilogue. I’m still hoping we get to see them with a child in the future. BUT, overall One With You is such an incredible book and I wish I could read it for the first time again. To be honest,  I still can’t believe this is the end of this series and I’m so sad to see it go!

“Miss me,” he ordered. I blew him a kiss. “Always.”

^^ I will surely miss them! Gideon and Eva are one of my favorite book couples and I will not be able to let them go for a long time. Thank you Sylvia Day for this beautiful story between two remarkable and unforgettable characters! Now I need a hug! *cries*

——-

rheeza

 

One thought on “Review: One With You (Crossfire #5) by Sylvia Day

  1. I really enjoyed the Crossfire Series. I hated to see Gideon and Eva leave that I actually started re-reading the series. One With You was a great ending to a great story.

    Like

Leave a comment